Meetings

Evening meetings are usually held on the second Tuesday of each month from October through to April in the Refectory at the Houghall Campus of East Durham College, 7:00pm for 7:30pm start.

Please note that the April meeting is the first Tuesday of the month (April 2nd) as the college is closed the following week.  

Winter/Spring 2019 Evening Meetings

View previous year’s programme.

bullet  Tuesday 8 January 2019, 7:30pm, ‘Fruitful Durham’ by Julian Godfrey.

bullet  Tuesday 12 February 2019, 7:30pm, ‘Restoring the Arts and Crafts garden at Mount Grace Priory: the Chris Beardshaw project’ by James Taylor, English Heritage Head Gardener, Mount Grace Priory and Gardens.

bullet  Tuesday 12 March 2019, 7:30pm, ‘Growing and showing a national collection’ by Stella Exley, holder of the National Collection of Camassia, RHS Gold Medal winner.

bullet  Tuesday 2 April 2019, 7:00pm, Annual General Meeting, followed by a talk by alpine specialist Dr Alan Pearson on ‘The mountains of Northern Spain and their plants’.

bullet  Tuesday 14 May 2019, 7:30pm, ‘Ferns: a guide to choosing and growing ferns for a variety of garden situations’ by Neil Timms the Fern Man, owner of a family run fern nursery and supplier to well known garden
designers including Adam Frost.

Programme of Summer Visits for 2019

Please note that the summer outings must be booked in advance and that places are limited.

bullet  Sunday 12 May 2019Drointon Auricula Nursery, Ripon and
RHS Harlow Carr, Harrogate.

bullet  Sunday 9 June 2019Acton House, Morpeth and Longframlington Gardens.

bullet  Tuesday 18 June – Friday 21 June 2019, Visit to North Wales, Cheshire and Shropshire organised by Brookland Travel.

bullet  Sunday 21 July 2019Lilburn Tower and Paxton House.

bullet  Sunday 18 August 2019 Winton Park and Eggleston Hall.